A Day in the Life

Creative Blogs#adayinthelifemh

Whilst looking around the internet for any exciting news or interesting blogs in the world about mental health I stumbled across an initiative called “A Day in the Life”.

A Day in the Life is a mass blogging website where people with mental health difficulties write about a day in their life on four different days across the project. The first two days have already gone; being the 7th of November 2014 & the 10th of February 2015, & the next day is the 10th of May 2015.

The project will last for a year & is designed to offer people a snapshot of the bloggers lives; their experiences, wellbeing & thoughts. Each blog is up to 700 words long & is an honest account of what happen to the blogger on that day & how those events impacted on their wellbeing. Bloggers can also select from a number of areas such as stigma, work & home life rating them as positive, negative or neutral; this allows readers to filter the hundreds of blog posts into more manageable subjects before they get stuck in reading them.

My experiences of mental health issues have been relatively limited & took place when I was in my early teens so I found it really interesting to read about the lives of other people who are currently living with difficulties which without these posts I would have no understanding ofpos & negative faces

Perhaps the most moving part of it all is that each writer is so personal (even though they’re all anonymous), they describe everyday events as if they are exactly that, everyday; they don’t write as if the reader is stupid or as if they’re a doctor or therapist, perhaps that is just what an anonymous blog on the internet can offer people, a space to write completely openly & honestly & not be judged.

I would encourage anyone who is reading this to take a look at the A Day in the Life website where you can read the blog entries or even sign up to write your own posts. You can click either the picture below or the link & it will take you to the website.

A Day in the Life bannerhttps://dayinthelifemh.org.uk/

My name is Mike, I'm a 20 year old administrator for Looking Forward.
My name is Mike, I’m a 20 year old administrator for Looking Forward. I am also involved in delivering therapeutic Aikido sessions to children & young people.

